News Archive

Committee Login



Welsh Schools National Cross-Country with Championship Win for Samia Jones and selection for Wales along with Osian Perrin, Abbi Parkinson and Ffion Madi Rees Jones.

Sunday, March 11, 2018

21 of Menai's Endurance athletes represented Eryri at the Welsh Schools National Cross-Country Championships at Penlan Arena, Brecon on Wednesday March 7th 2018.

It was all systems go following 2 days of frantic activity as the 56th. WSAA Championships took place at Brecon. Weather and underfoot conditions had improved rapidly during Monday and Tuesday as Schools officers shovelled snow, re-designed the course and reverted to the old finish area in order to get the event staged and underway. The course, although heavy in places stood up well as athletes from the 8 School Districts battled it out.

The event got underway with the Junior Girls race at 1pm. Samia Jones (Syr Hugh Owen) continued to dominate as she moved away from a quality field and opened a gap which was never closed down. Eryri team-mate Abbi Parkinson (Brynrefail) took silver.

Out of 21 Menai Endurance athletes representing Eryri, four were awarded with International Honours by being selected to represent Wales at Wollaton Park on Saturday, March 24th. with the climax of the Cross- Country season as English Schools hosts the combined SIAB and Home Countries Cross-Country Internationals. Good luck to all who have earned selection, Osian Perrin(Middle Boys), Samia Jones and Abbi Parkinson (Junior Girls) and Ffion Madi Rees Jones (Middle Girls). Team Medals were also won by 11 of our athletes which included 5 Bronze, 3 Silver and 3 Gold. Well done to all 21 Menai athletes who represented Eryri.

All results and names below :

Junior Girls

1. Samia Jones, Individual Gold, Team Bronze & Wales Selection

2. Abbi Parkinson, Individual Silver, Team Bronze & Wales Selection

21. Boe Celyn Jones, Team Bronze

44. Caitlin Forrest, Team Bronze

48. Amelia Hucks, Team Bronze

55.Georgia Parkinson

Junior Boys

11. Math Thomas, Team Silver

Senior Girls

21. Lucy Lawrence

Year 7 Boys

2. Harri Morgan, Silver, Team Silver

3. Dylan Robb, Bronze, Team Silver

Year 7 Girls

62. Kyla Cain

Middle Girls

8. Ffion Madi Rees Jones, Wales Selection

35. Jodie Cain

36. Swyn Edwards

Middle Boys

5. Osian Perrin, Team Gold & Wales Selection

15. Aled Jones, Team Gold

19. Cai Llwyd Jones, Team Gold

20. Louis Guest

25. Dan Stones

29. Cai La Trobe Roberts

30. Gethin Davies

« Previous Article